Friends General Conference

Together we nurture the spiritual vitality of Friends

Using Gathering Technology

At the Virtual Gathering, we will be relying on technology that some attenders may be experienced with, and some attenders totally unfamiliar. Below is a list of software and platforms we are using, along with instructions. 

Zoom

Zoom is videoconferencing software that allows users to either connect in via video (using a computer, tablet, or smartphone), or call in for audio-only on a phone. If you are using Zoom from a computer, tablet, or smartphone, you need to download the Zoom app first. When you use the meeting link, you will be prompted to download it. Please make sure you have downloaded the most up-to-date version of Zoom before the Virtual Gathering begins.  

Written Zoom instructions (from NEYM)

How to join a meeting - video from Zoom

How to configure your audio & video settings - video from Zoom

Have a Zoom question or problem? The Zoom Help Center is a great resource. You can get iOS (iPhone and iPad) and Android device specific instructions at the bottom of each webpage in the Zoom Help Center

​Zoom instructions for phone: If you are dialing in, dial one of the Zoom phone numbers given to you, and enter the Meeting ID number followed by #. You will likely not need a participant ID, and can skip that by pressing #. Once in the meeting, you can mute and unmute yourself by pressing *6 , and you can raise your "virtual" hand by pressing *9  More about joining by phone

New to Zoom? Attend a Zoom Basics for Gathering Participants Session:
 
Monday, June 22 at 8pm eastern/5pm pacific
Wednesday, June 24 at 8pm eastern/5pm pacifc
Saturday, June 27 at 4pm eastern/1pm pacific
 
You can join Zoom meetings from your Android, iPhone, and tablet.
 

Sched

Sched is an online program for conference attenders. Gathering registrants will be able to login, view almost all Virtual Gathering events, including the event descriptions and Zoom meeting information, and set it to your own time zone. You have an additional option to create an account with your email address, create your own schedule of events you want to attend, and have it emailed to you. It is the easiest way to have the schedule and the links you need. 

Want step-by-step instructions? View this Sched Instructions Handout

Spiritual Deepening eRetreat Platform

Some workshops will be using the Spiritual Deepening eRetreat Platform. You'll recieve an email with instructions, but you can also learn more here

Info Desk

Need help? During the Gathering, the Info Desk volunteers are on hand to help you with your tech support needs. They are available during the following times (Zoom link is in your final details email!)

Sunday June 28

11:00am-1:00pm eastern / 8:00am-10:00am pacific

5:00pm-8:00pm eastern / 2:00pm-6:00pm pacific

Monday, June 29 - Friday, July 3

9:30-10:30am eastern / 6:30-7:30am pacific *Monday and Thursday only

11:00-11:30am eastern / 8:00-8:30am pacific Monday through Friday

12:00-1:30pm eastern / 9:00-10:30am pacific Monday through Friday

3:30-4:00pm eastern / 12:30-1:00pm pacific Monday through Friday

7:00-8:00pm eastern / 4:00-5:00pm pacific Monday through Friday

Saturday, July 4

11:00am-12:00pm eastern / 8:00am-9:00am pacific