Friends General Conference

Together we nurture the spiritual vitality of Friends

Help Your Meeting Challenge Racism

Image credit: Marta Rusek/FGC
Enrichment

Do you want to help your meeting challenge racism and work for racial justice?

Do you feel led to travel in the ministry with a concern for racism?

Are you looking for ways to connect with other Friends of Color?

The Ministry on Racism Program at FGC offers assistance and support to meetings and yearly meetings that want to develop their racial and ethnic awareness, increase their diversity, and strive to address the impact of the institution of racism on our Society.

FGC connects Friends and meetings doing work and witnessing about racism and racial diversity, supports individuals traveling in the ministry with a concern for racism, and identifies resources to help people engaging in this work.

Keep reading below to learn about the virtual offerings from the Ministry on Racism.

_______________________________________________________________________________

Virtual BIPOC Womens Space

In 2021, Friends General Conference's Ministry on Racism held their annual Fall Adult Retreat for Friends of Color virtually. During that retreat there were multiple small break out groups, one of which was for people who identified as women of Color. During the closing of this retreat the group asked for FGC's support to continue to support a space for women of color. FGC agreed to support these Friends with providing monthly virtual worships on Zoom. These worships are provided as a place for BIPOC women to come together in community and worship in an environment with other women who experience marginalization in their lives and Quaker meetings because they are a person of Color.

The orginal group of BIPOC women from the 2021 Fall Adult Retreat for FOC had women from all across the world; India, England and throughout the USA. To ensure as many can join as possible there are two monthly virtual meetings for worship. Each worship is an hour.

The first monthly worship is on the first Monday of the Month at 3:00 PM ET / 2:00 PM CT / 1:00 PM MT / 12:00 PM PT.

The second monthly worship is on the first Thursday of the Month at 8:00 PM ET / 7:00 PM CT / 6:00 PM MT / 5:00 PM PT. 

If you identify and live as a woman of Color and would like to join us, please complete tthe registration form below. You only need to register once and will receive regular reminder emails about the events. For questions please email BIPOCwomenssp[email protected] 

Register here

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Virtual Worship for Friends of Color

In 2018, Friends General Conference began hosting virtual worship for People of Color. FGC established this practice as a result of a request by Friends of Color who participated in a retreat that summer. During that weekend Friends of Color expressed their pain of feeling oppressed in their meeting which caused them to stop attending. These Friends were clear that Quakerism and worship was core to their lives and wanted an opportunity to continue to worship in community. FGC agreed to support these Friends with providing monthly virtual worships on Zoom. These worships are provided as a place for Friends of Color to come together in community and worship in an environment with Friends who experience marginalization in their lives and Quaker meetings because they are a Person of Color. 

During this time of the global COVID-19 pandemic, FGC has been offering these virtual worships on a regular basis.

There are two weekly virtual meetings for worship:

Midday weekly worship Wednesdays at 1 PM ET / 12 PM CT / 11 AM MT / 10 AM PT / 7 AM HT.

Evening weekly worship Wednesdays at 8 PM ET / 7 PM CT / 6 PM MT / 5 PM PT / 2 PM HT.  

There will additionally be a monthly meeting for worship: 

Monthly worship every third Sunday of each month at 8 PM ET / 7 PM CT / 6 PM MT / 5 PM PT / 2 PM HT.

If you identify as a person of Color and would like to join us for our worship, please complete this form: